The Truth About Love (2004)


Just re-posting my review last year (April 30, 2009)…

RATING: 3/5

CATEGORY: Romantic Comedy-Drama

I’ve got nothing else to do at home so I grabbed a few DVDs from our office DVD library. I wasn’t thinking of anything entertaining as I needed something to make me sleep instead. So I picked this Jennifer Love Hewitt film ‘The Truth About Love‘. I never liked her…even her films…well except for ‘If Only’ just because it was tragic film.

As I was saying, I didn’t attempt to read the synopsis of this film as I wasn’t interested at all.

How far would you go to test your man?

The movie started very cheesy. The first scene was a man walking alone on a bridge (London bridge?) as he noticed a heart-shaped reflection from a puddle of water. I wasn’t even sure if the man was talking to himself or somebody else narrating in German or French. It sounded alien to me and it reminded me of Mr. Bean. =)

Anyway, he repeatedly mentioned love and the movie transcended to Valentine’s Day.

I was further annoyed when I heard Hewitt speaking in a British-English accent. I even thought the film was dubbed by somebody else since her voice sounded different. To top it all, her hair style was so 80’s (short curly messy hair with straight bangs!).

On the brighter side…the film isn’t bad at all…entertaining. I’d say…it is the most mature Hewitt film I have ever seen. She played the character very well while projecting varying emotions and characters. And of course, expect her flaunting her boobs again and again.

Leave a Reply

