Up in the Air (2010)


photo from IMP Awards

RATING: 3/5

CATEGORY: Drama

There’s nothing much to brag about George Clooney‘s film Up in the Air but I liked it since I could relate. I wasn’t fired but I had my own share of firing people. As an HR practitioner and as a line manager, perhaps firing people is one of the hardest tasks to carry out plainly because I’m not good at delivering bad news nor in dealing with emotional people.

Perhaps this is the only film I’ve seen that talks about current events in relation to the 2009 global financial crisis. This crisis is still evident as few companies are still retrenching and many are still unemployed. It’s just frustrating as I receive tons of calls and emails of applications everyday and yet I have few to offer.

Having played the role of Jessica in the Twilight Saga would probably stereotype Anna Kendrick for playing support roles and annoying girly girl characters. She is lucky enough to bag this role and showcase her acting skills.

As usual, George Clooney still looks charming.

In it’s entirety, I enjoyed some of the witty dialogues…especially the parenthesis thing…


Ryan Bingham: [on getting through airport security] Never get behind old people. Their bodies are littered with hidden metal and they never seem to appreciate how little time they have left. Bingo, Asians. They pack light, travel efficiently, and they have a thing for slip on shoes. Gotta love ’em.
Natalie Keener: That’s racist.
Ryan Bingham: I’m like my mother, I stereotype. It’s faster.

Ryan Bingham: [End of closing monologue] The stars will wheel forth from their daytime hiding places; and one of those lights, slightly brighter than the rest, will be my wingtip passing over.

Ryan Bingham: I thought I was a part of your life.
Alex Goran: I thought we signed up for the same thing… I thought our relationship was perfectly clear. You are an escape. You’re a break from our normal lives. You’re a parenthesis.
Ryan Bingham: I’m a parenthesis?

Natalie Keener: Please, for the love of God, can I fire the next one.

Source: IMDb

2 thoughts on “Up in the Air (2010)

Leave a Reply

