Glad I did this before 30: The first shipwreck experience


Day 2 – Aug 21, 2011

We were hoping for a good weather the following day as we began the first of our three-day Calamian Islands hopping. Fortunately, it wasn’t too sunny and the water was placid.

boat ride to Lusong Gunboat Shipwreck

Our tour guide got loads of trivia to share during the boat ride. He mentioned that most of the islands were owned by private foreign citizens. What sucks is these islands were sold by the Tagbanuas only for a few thousand pesos!

if I were born & filthy rich back then, I could have bought this island

Our first stop wasn’t actually an island but a shipwreck [Lusong Gunboat]. I was really looking forward to it as I haven’t seen one and the tour guide mentioned that it actually sunk in shallow waters so you can readily see the remains of the ship. Relieved, my new Pentax Optio WG-1 camera was able to capture these great underwater photos! But of course, I had to do a little photo editing. 🙂

Imagine the ship sideways teeming with corals and schools of fish. Quite frankly, I was too scared to get near and step on the shipwreck as it was kind of rusty. Haha…

But wait, there’s more….

2 thoughts on “Glad I did this before 30: The first shipwreck experience

  1. Pingback: Glad I did this before 30: Conquered Mt. Tapyas « I'm not who you think I am

  2. Pingback: Glad I did this before 30: Indeed an underwater garden « I'm not who you think I am

Leave a Reply

